Adaptation and Inheritance

Certain authors who are considered as the greatest one of all the time like Voltaire, Tolstoy were not fan of Shakespeare; they criticized him immensely. What is your opinion in this regard? How would you respon[d] to someone who portrays Shakespeare as “non thinker”?

Does it hurt or help to modernize (or is it “dumbing down”?) one of Shakespeare’s plays and introduce the work (in whatever form) to an audience that would otherwise not read or view it? I am thinking of 10 Things I Hate About You as the way I was introduced to Taming of the Shrew and how it suddenly clicked that I knew the story from my younger days as I was learning about the original.

Leave a Reply

