Christian Thought in Shakespeare Q&A

 

One of the things I try to impress upon my students is how integrated Shakespeare is within a deeply Christian framework and worldview. They have asked some questions, so I’ve offered some answers.

  • I have not been influenced enough in my life by Christianity for it to just slap me in the face when I come across a subtle reference. In studying Shakespeare is this okay? Should I be delving more into this topic even though I really truly do not have an interest in it (Christianity-not Shakespeare-I’m loving the plays)? Or is that one sided? You have said previously (I think in a video!) that you are an atheist, so without being too nosey, how do you analyse Christianity within these texts as an atheist? Do you purely look at it with a textbook perspective? I do not mean this offensively at all-anybody can have faith in anything (or nothing) they wish, I am just curious.
  • Can you point of other Christian influences in A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Taming of the Shrew and Comedy of Errors that wasn’t already covered in our lecture notes??
Leave a Reply

