EN245 – Done the Lecture Scripts!

I’ve just written my last lecture for EN245, a course I foolishly decided I would flip… because that’s what all the books these days say you are supposed to do. I’ve decided that those books are wrong.

  • After writing 140 000 words of text
  • After creating over 12 hours of videos
  • After creating dozens of activities and games to help the learning process
  • After knowing (seriously) that sometimes even my best students don’t read the primary text (Twelfth Night, I’m looking at you)
  • After staring at the computer screen so long my eyes hurt and my body is in a permanent state of discomfort
  • After being so frustrated with the whole process that I’ve actually had people come up to me and say “what’s wrong?”
  • After working 700% more hours than are in my contract such that my hourly pay is somewhere south of $5/hr…

I can finally say, I’ve done the impossible. I’ve got most of the way through this course and I have my sanity still. I’m still considering how I can turn this into a regular thing, but hey, I’m mostly done. I have to figure out how I can talk about this at Congress next year without it turning into a bitch-fest, but I’m sure I can come up with something.

Dear god, I need scotch.

Leave a Reply

