The Year 1590

I am teaching a course called Shakespearean Contexts in the fall and have been preparing some of the material for it over the past few days.  One of the things I like to do is to exploit new media where I can. For the most part, my strategy is to use new media such as movies to give extra information, while saving the material that they need to know for the lectures in class.  After all, this course is not an online course and I don’t want my students to think that attending lectures is optional.

Nevertheless, I’ve put together a short movie on the history of major events around the world in and around the year 1590 as a way of getting them to think about what else is going on.  It is intended for educational purposes only.  If you are a professor or teacher and interested in pointing your students to this, go right ahead.  Please let me know!  I’d love to hear about how it goes.

Leave a Reply

